~nicoco/slidgram#10: 
Chats deleted via official clients appear on top of user's chats

When any chat is deleted via official client, it shows up in recent chats on xmpp client. Apparently this happens because slidgram attempts to remove messages on xmpp side after chat being deleted on telegram side. It's not exactly a bug, more like annoyance. I like to keep my chats tidy, so having deleted chats pop up in my xmpp client gets annoying. Btw, it happens when you delete a bot chat too.

How to reproduce:

  1. Open any chat in official telegram app
  2. Tap/click on three dots on top, choose Delete chat
  3. XMPP client will show that chat as if there was some recent activity

I'm not sure if it's really fixable, since what I think happens is that slidge treats chat deletion as mass deletion of messages (which is kinda true, but thing is - that happens even when you uncheck "delete for my contact as well" checkbox)

Status
REPORTED
Submitter
~darknneko
Assigned to
No-one
Submitted
6 months ago
Updated
6 months ago
Labels
No labels applied.

~nicoco 6 months ago

I don't think we can do much about chats appearing when we don't want them. I've noticed that happens sometimes in Dino and Beagle indeed, but it really looks like a client issue. When mass deleting messages, it would make sense for clients not to bring that chat to the top…

In which XMPP client do you see that?

Is "deleting a telegram chat" equivalent to "removing a telegram contact"? If yes, maybe we could do something better about that in case we don't already map the "contact deletion event" to something on the XMPP side.

~darknneko 6 months ago · edit

It happens both on gajim and cheogram, both are latest versions.

By teleting telegram chat I meant entered a chat on official client, tapping/clicking 3 dots on top, choosing delete chat.

On December 31, 2023 2:28:29 PM GMT+06:00, ~nicoco outgoing@sr.ht wrote:

I don't think we can do much about chats appearing when we don't want them. I've noticed that happens sometimes in Dino and Beagle indeed, but it really looks like a client issue. When mass deleting messages, it would make sense for clients not to bring that chat to the top���

In which XMPP client do you see that?

Is "deleting a telegram chat" equivalent to "removing a telegram contact"? If yes, maybe we could do something better about that in case we don't already map the "contact deletion event" to something on the XMPP side.

Register here or Log in to comment, or comment via email.